第100回例会レポート 3/21/2015

3/21 の例会は、サザンビーチトーストマスターズクラブ 100 回記念例会でした!

今日のトーストマスターは、今回の 100 回記念特別例会を牽引下さったHさん。いつも落ち着いて見えるHさんですが、とても緊張しているとのこと。それでも会場は、あたたかくて幸せな空気に包ま れていました。Hさんは役割説明に続けて、初代会長Aさんからの祝辞をご披露下さいました。立ち上げから携わってこられたAさんにとって 100 回記念は、とても感慨深いものだったでしょう。サザンビーチの明るくあたたかな雰囲気は、当初から脈々と引き継がれてきたものなのだと思います。そんなサ ザンは理想のクラブである、とAさんは祝辞で述べられました。そんな訳で本日の言葉は「理想」、会は進行されて行きました。

続いてNさんの準備スピーチ「役割」。「生まれや育ちによって人生観は違う」日本生まれではないNさんの口から伝えられると、それだけでインパクト を感じました。Nさんは「生まれた事に意味がある」「役割がある」事を、中国の故事を例に説明してくれました。その昔、毎日 2 時間かけて 2 つの樽の水を運んでいるおじさんがいた。片方の樽にはひびが入っており、運び終わる頃にはいつも半分ほどに減っていた。ひびの入った樽はその事を恥じてい たが、おじさんはそんな樽にこう言うのです。「ひびが入っている事は知っていた。だから私は道に花の種を植えた。ひびのおかげで毎日水をやることができ、 咲いた花で私は食卓を飾る事が出来た」それぞれに役割があり、みんなが同じである必要は無い。自分の役割って何なんだろう、と考えるきっかけになって欲し い、とスピーチは締めくくられました。「ダイバーシティ」という言葉が聞かれるようになり久しいですが、時々なんだか大掛かりな、たいそうな話に聞こえて 身構えてしまう事があります。しかし N さんのこのスピーチはとても自然に頭に入り、なるほどと思える素敵なものでした。

続くテーブルトピックスは、Tさんによる、テーマ「100」。ちなみに前回のテーブルトピックスもTさんで、テーマは「99」。あれは100回例会に向けての布石だったのですね!

それにしても今回のお題、ハードでした。「百害あって一利無し、なことは」「御百度参りでかなえたい夢」「100人の味方をつけてやりたいこと」 「もし百面相だったらどんな顔になる?」。どれも、自分の内面を出しながら話さなければならないようなお題なのに、即座にまとめて話さなければならないな んて!自分だったらなんて答えよう?!と卒倒しそうな気分でしたが私の心配などどこ吹く風、ゲストを含む 4 名の猛者たちは、それはそれは素敵な即興スピーチを披露してくれました。100回記念に相応しい、素晴らしいテーブルトピックスでした。

続いてこれまでの歴史を振り返るセッション。「東海道をつなぎたい」というOさんの壮大な野望の足がかりとして作られたという裏話、初めて伺いまし た。他のクラブとの兼ね合いもさることながら、立地と人柄が良さそうということで茅ヶ崎を選ばれた、立ち上げメンバーの O さん、A さん、N さん。今のクラブの様子を見れば、茅ヶ崎にして大正解でしたね。

日本語セッションの最後は Y さんからの論評。Nさんのスピーチを、流れがきちんとしていたこと、そのためメッセージがよく伝わったことを良い点として挙げられました。併せて、Nさん の生まれた国での階級制度、民族差について是非もっと聞きたかった、Nさんがどういう役割を持っていると思われているのかを是非聞かせて欲しい、と伝えら れました。自分がただ好きだと思ったスピーチであっても、他の方からの論評を聞くことで、より良くなる点を知る事ができるこの時間は、毎度ながらとても勉 強になります。

English Session followed Japanese Session.  ToastMaster Of the Morning (TMOM) was ™ M.  Though it was the 1st time for her to take this role, she kept her pace and held her head up.  It was very impressive for me.

™ Y shared us the proverb of the day.   It was “Repeated reading makes the meaning clear”.  He explained us the proverb came from ancient China.  His wide knowledge surprise me always.  ™ Y, thank you for sharing your knowledge kindly!

™ M delivered a prepared speech titled “What is it?”  Firstly, she asked us the reason why we come to join the meeting of Toastmasters club.  “Why are you here?  What did you make to come here even though Saturday morning?”  To tell the truth, joining to the meeting became a pattern for me.  Of cause it always gives me much fun, but I though I need to ask myself why do I come here.  She said to connect the social is important for us and to communicate is the way to connect to the social.  We human being lives in society, with society.  And she said she can develop and re-learn herself during the meeting as well.  I loved her attitude and I’d like to discover myself like her.

Time for Table Topics came again.  ™ K asked us 5 questions related to TMC.  “What was your best experience of TMC?”, “What is your bitter memory of TMC?”, “DId TMC change your life?”, “Do you have any hero/heroin in TMC who admire you?”, and “What would you like to do in TMC future?”  Everyone replied with smile, sometime with jokes, except I… I don’t like replying in table topics so much because every time I feel I just reply very surface-level something.  I need to blush up my CPU!

Looking back of Southernbeach Toast Masters history was organized by ™ H and M.  There were so many special meetings like bus tour, Aloha, camping by the sea.  How variety of meetings we had!   I really looking forward to joining special meetings which we will have in future.

Evaluation session was led by ™ N for the prepared speech.  ™ M selected “vocal variety” as her challenge because she thought she could do better.  He praised she achieved her challenge perfectly with her body language.  One thing he advised her was “Using some pauses to your speech effectively”.   Using pause must be one of key factors to deliver  messages successfully.

After the educational sessions, we had a time to sing together!  The song title was “Minna-no-Uta” originally released by Southern All Stars and arranged by ™ N.  We sung it with smile.

After that, we celebrated ™ T and M who won the prize of table topics.   Guests gave us worm congratulations as their comments, and 100th special meeting was closed by ™ T, as a President.

Congratulations all of us to have 100th meeting, and let’s enjoy learning together.

